Our Baillie Gifford Schools Programme challenges young minds to question, imagine and wonder. Each year, the programme brings together well-established writers, illustrators and performers from every corner of the globe, along with some shining new talent. There are events for every year group, primary and secondary, and the programme is put together with the Curriculum for Excellence in mind.

The 2019 Baillie Gifford Schools Programme runs from 19-27 August 2019. All events take place in venues in Charlotte Square Gardens, with a few events for older pupils in the Spark Theatre on George Street (opposite the Gardens). Charlotte Square Gardens can be found just off Princes Street in the heart of Edinburgh City Centre.

Download the 2019 Schools brochure now

If you would like to receive a copy of the brochure in the post, please email mailinglist@edbookfest.co.uk with your name and full address.

We are committed to making books more affordable for pupils and schools. See our Books and Bookshops page for more information.

Baillie Gifford Gala Day for Primary Schools

Primary schools have the Book Festival all to themselves on Baillie Gifford Gala Day. Taking place on Tuesday 27 August 2019, it’s an extravaganza of world class writers, storytelling, illustration, music and magic.

Come and join in the fun in 2019 at the largest festival of books and authors for children in the world!

Full Events Listing 2019

Date/Time Age Range Author 
Monday 19 August
10.00am – 11.30am S1—S2 Claire Askew & the Citizen pupils
10.30am S2—S5 Steven Camden
10.30am S1—S2 Lari Don
11.45am P2—P4 Julian Clary & David Roberts
12 noon P7—S2 Kwame Alexander
12.15pm S3—S6 Imam Baksh
12.30pm P1—P3 Naomi Howarth
1.30pm P5—P7 Scarlett Thomas
Tuesday 20 August
10.00am – 11.30am P7—S1 Claire Askew & the Citizen pupils
10.30am S1—S3 Candy Gourlay & Elizabeth Jones
10.30am P1—P3 Macastory
11.00am P5—P7 Shakirah Bourne & Lisa Thompson
12 noon P2—P5 Thomas J Clark
12.15pm S3—S6 Kirkland Ciccone
1.30pm S1—S3 Jason Reynolds
Wednesday 21 August
10.00am S4—S6 Tongue Fu with Chris Redmond
10.30am P3—P5 Justin Davies
12 noon P5—P7 Sita Brahmachari
12.15pm S1—S3 William Sutcliffe
12.15pm P1—P3 Kate Leiper & Karine Polwart
Thursday 22 August
10.30am P6—S1 Chloe Daykin & Alan Durant
10.30am P1—P2 Joseph Coelho
11.45am S1—S3 Darren Shan
12 noon S5—S6 Doug Johnstone
12.15pm P4—P6 Sam Gayton
12.30pm P4—P7 David Macphail
Friday 23 August
10.00am P6—P7 Gareth Williams
10.30am S1—S3 Muhammad Khan & Tom Pollock
10.30am P3—P6 James Nicol
11.45am S4—S6 Laura Bates
12 noon P1—P2 Tony Ross & Jeanne Willis
12.15pm P3—P5 Gary Northfield
Monday 26 August
10.00am P4—S1 Cressida Cowell
10.00am – 10.45am All Ages Philip Ardagh & Elissa Elwick
(event for pupils with severe learning disabilities including PMLD)
10.30am S4—S6 Matt Wesolowski
12 noon P1—P2 Sue Hendra & Paul Linnet
12.15pm P5—P7 Sylvia V Linsteadt
12.30pm S1—S4 Mel Darbon & David Owen
Baillie Gifford Gala Day
Tuesday 27 August
10.00am P3—P5 Tracey Corderoy & Steven Lenton
10.15am P6—P7 Adam Baron
10.30am – 12.45pm P1—P4 Eboracum Baroque
10.30am P2—P4 Vivian French & Marta Kissi
11.45am P4—P6 Roger Stevens
11.45am P3—P7 Steve Cole
12 noon P1—P3 Rob Biddulph
12.15pm P6—P7 Edward Ross
1.15pm P4—P7 Macastory